Crypto exchanges ranked by trust score
| # | Exchange | Trust | 24h volume (BTC) | Founded | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Coinbase | 10/10 | 33,707 | 2012 | site |
| 2 | Binance | 10/10 | 159,129 | 2017 | site |
| 3 | Kraken | 10/10 | 24,075 | 2011 | site |
| 4 | OKX | 10/10 | 33,047 | 2017 | site |
| 5 | Gate.io | 10/10 | 25,038 | 2013 | site |
| 6 | Bitget | 10/10 | 16,069 | 2018 | site |
| 7 | Bitstamp by Robinhood | 9/10 | 7,805 | 2011 | site |
| 8 | MEXC | 9/10 | 21,140 | 2018 | site |
| 9 | Crypto.com | 9/10 | 10,332 | 2019 | site |
| 10 | OSL Exchange | 9/10 | 1,620 | 2018 | site |
| 11 | Binance US | 9/10 | 305 | 2019 | site |
| 12 | KuCoin | 9/10 | 25,251 | 2017 | site |
| 13 | Toobit | 9/10 | 31,392 | 2022 | site |
| 14 | WhiteBIT | 9/10 | 17,836 | 2018 | site |
| 15 | Bitvavo | 9/10 | 6,156 | 2018 | site |
| 16 | Gemini | 9/10 | 516 | 2014 | site |
| 17 | Bitunix | 9/10 | 5,157 | 2021 | site |
| 18 | BingX | 9/10 | 7,034 | 2018 | site |
| 19 | Bullish | 9/10 | 18,167 | 2021 | site |
| 20 | Bitso | 8/10 | 238 | 2014 | site |
| 21 | HashKey Exchange | 8/10 | 801 | 2018 | site |
| 22 | Ourbit | 8/10 | 21,743 | 2020 | site |
| 23 | Bitkub | 8/10 | 742 | 2018 | site |
| 24 | Bybit EU | 8/10 | 458 | 2025 | site |
| 25 | Luno | 8/10 | 231 | 2013 | site |
| 26 | Bybit | 8/10 | 25,083 | 2018 | site |
| 27 | Bitbank | 8/10 | 599 | 2016 | site |
| 28 | CoinW | 8/10 | 22,159 | 2017 | site |
| 29 | Coinstore | 8/10 | 4,162 | 2020 | site |
| 30 | LBank | 8/10 | 32,064 | 2015 | site |
| 31 | HTX (Huobi) | 7/10 | 11,322 | 2013 | site |
Fees, KYC and proof of reserves
| Exchange | Maker / taker | KYC | Proof of reserves | Insurance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binance | 0.10% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | SAFU fund (~$1B) |
| OKX | 0.08% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | Risk reserve fund |
| Bybit | 0.10% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | Insurance fund published daily |
| Coinbase | 0.40% / 0.60% | Required | No | Crime insurance on hot wallets; USD balances FDIC pass-through |
| Kraken | 0.25% / 0.40% | Required | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Bitget | 0.10% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | Protection Fund (~$300M+) |
| KuCoin | 0.10% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Gate.io | 0.10% / 0.10% | Required | Yes | Not disclosed |
| HTX (Huobi) | 0.20% / 0.20% | Required | Yes | Security reserve fund |
| MEXC | 0.00% / 0.05% | Optional | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Crypto.com | 0.25% / 0.50% | Required | Yes | $750M insurance program |
| Gemini | 0.20% / 0.40% | Required | No | Insurance on custody; SOC 1/2 audited |
Questions
- How is this ranking calculated?
- It follows the CoinGecko trust score, which weighs liquidity, scale, cybersecurity and regulatory factors, and shows normalized 24h volume to reduce the effect of wash trading. The notes on fees, proof of reserves and licenses are maintained by hand.
- Which exchange is safest?
- None is risk-free. Exchanges with a long record without customer losses, regular proof of reserves, strong licensing and insurance funds (Kraken, Coinbase, Binance, OKX) are generally considered safer. Keep long-term holdings in self-custody.
- Are the sign-up links referral links?
- Yes. Registering through a sign-up link may earn us a commission and usually gives you a fee discount or bonus. The ranking order is not affected.
- What is proof of reserves?
- A published audit or Merkle-tree proof showing an exchange holds at least the assets it owes customers. It does not prove solvency, because liabilities can be hidden, but its absence is a warning sign.